Institution / governanceRecord 06 / 16Public record

Board and policy register

The board seats and the policies a donor or a board member would look for, with each row stating what establishes it and the rows nothing establishes published empty rather than omitted.

INSTAR Lab Inc. · Website snapshot: Not reported · No private submissions

Publish the row, not a completed table.

This register carries the board seats and the policies a donor, a funder, or a board member would look for. Every row states what establishes it. The rows nothing establishes are published empty on purpose: a table that omits them reads as complete, and a reader cannot tell an unpublished policy from one that does not exist.

Evidence rule. A row marked “not reported” is a statement about the evidence, not about the institution. It does not say a control is missing; it says no public source here describes it.
Board seats3seats listed; 2 named by a public source
Policies with a source1of 5 policies this register carries
Register checked2026-09-14the date the external record below was last opened

What the state filing reports.

These are the strongest rows in this register: a state charitable-registration record states them. They are self-reported figures for a filing year, not a current roster.

Governance fact, the source that carries it, and what that source cannot establish
FactValueBasisStatusLimit
Board members reported3Ohio Attorney General charitable-registration record, most recent filing year on record.External recordA count in a state filing is a self-reported figure for a filing year. It is not a current roster, and it says nothing about who holds the seats.
Board meetings reported1Ohio Attorney General charitable-registration record, most recent filing year on record.External recordThe figure covers one filing year as reported. It is not a governance calendar and this register draws no conclusion from it about how often the board meets.
Audited financial statementsNone filed with the state registrationOhio Attorney General charitable-registration record, most recent filing year on record.External recordThis records what the registration states, which is that no audited statements were filed with it. It is not a statement about the institution’s internal accounting or about any audit performed for another purpose.

Three seats, and what accounts for each one.

The count above comes from a state filing that does not name anyone. The names below come from the institution’s own public pages, which is a weaker basis, and each row says so.

Board seats as the record accounts for them

An empty cell is a row the register is publishing empty, not a row it forgot. No degree, certification, or professional title is asserted for any name in this register.

Board seats as the record accounts for them
AreaName as publishedDisplayed roleStatus
Seat 1Suzanne ConejosAI Lead Scientist · Board MemberSite published
Seat 2Sean HackneyBoard Member · AI ResearcherSite published
Seat 3Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Board seat, the basis that carries it, and the limit that basis carries
SeatName as publishedDisplayed roleBasisStatusLimit
Seat 1Suzanne ConejosAI Lead Scientist · Board MemberThe institution’s own public leadership preview.Site publishedThe site displays this appointment. No repository source, board resolution, or external record in this register establishes it, and no degree, certification, or professional title is asserted for this person anywhere in this register.
Seat 2Sean HackneyBoard Member · AI ResearcherThe institution’s own public leadership preview.Site publishedThe site displays this appointment. No repository source, board resolution, or external record in this register establishes it. The same credential rule applies: nothing here asserts a degree or a title.
Seat 3Not reportedNot reportedThe state filing reports three board members; the public site names two people as board members.Not reportedNothing in this repository or in the external records this register cites identifies the holder of this seat. The row is published empty on purpose: three of three seats are accounted for by the count, two of three by name, and the difference is the honest state of the record.

Every policy a reader would look for, including the ones with nothing behind them.

The register carries five policies by name. One is reported to exist in a state filing without its text being published; four have no public source at all. Neither state is a statement that the policy does not exist.

Policy, what is published about it, the basis, and the limit
PolicyPublished stateBasisStatusLimit
Conflict of interestReported on file with the state registrationOhio Attorney General charitable-registration record, most recent filing year on record.External recordThe registration reports that a conflict-of-interest policy exists. The policy itself is not published on this site, so its terms, its scope and its review cadence cannot be read from here.
Document retentionNot yet published on this siteNo source in this repository states a document-retention policy.Not reportedAbsence from this page is absence of a published source, not evidence that no policy exists. A retention policy would also govern the records requested under IRC §6104(d), so the legal-status register states that request path separately rather than implying it from this row.
WhistleblowerNot yet published on this siteNo source in this repository states a whistleblower policy.Not reportedAbsence of a published source, not of a policy. This register does not offer a reporting channel of its own; a reader with a concern should use the contact route the site already publishes.
Gift acceptanceNot yet published on this siteNo source in this repository states a gift-acceptance policy.Not reportedAbsence of a published source, not of a policy. Until a gift-acceptance policy is published, this register does not describe what the institution will or will not accept, and no page of this site should be read as doing so.
Financial controlsNot yet published on this siteNo source in this repository states a financial-controls policy.Not reportedAbsence of a published source, not of a control. The operational measures published elsewhere in this record room carry an approval basis of their own; that basis is not a substitute for a described control environment, and this row does not treat it as one.

Policies by what establishes them

Derived from the register beside it. The two bars are the two different things this page is trying to keep apart.

Download CSV
Reported on file with the state registration1
No published source on this site4
View data table
Policies by what establishes them
CategoryValue (policies)
Reported on file with the state registration1
No published source on this site4

Share of whole

Policy share: reported vs unpublished

The same two register counts as shares of the five-policy register. A policy with no published source keeps its visible slice: the finding is the blank, and the blank stays drawn.

Download CSV
Policy share: reported vs unpublishedThe same two register counts as shares of the five-policy register. A policy with no published source keeps its visible slice: the finding is the blank, and the blank stays drawn.
  • Reported on file with the state registration1 policies · 20%The conflict-of-interest policy: the filing reports that it exists, while its text is not published here.
  • No published source on this site4 policies · 80%Absence of a published source, not evidence that no policy exists.
View data table
Policy share: reported vs unpublished
CategoryValue (policies)
Reported on file with the state registration1
No published source on this site4

What a first-grant review, a donor, and a board member each ask for.

A program officer opening a first grant asks how much of the money reaches program, who approved the figures, and how the work is measured. A donor asks where a gift goes and whether it is restricted. A board member asks whether a budget and a financial statement exist, and who signed them. This register carries those questions with the same basis-and-limit discipline as every other register here, and it publishes the ones nothing answers as absences rather than leaving them off the table.

Read the row next to it. The program-service share is a filing figure carried by a state record, and the approval basis behind this room’s own measures is a management attestation. The register prints them in the same table because a reader who takes one without the other has an incomplete file.
Question, what is published against it, the basis, and the limit that basis carries
QuestionPublished valueBasisStatusLimit
Program service share of expenses, as filed100.00% — program service expenses $49,000 of total expenses $49,000, most recent filing year on recordOhio Attorney General charitable-registration record (EXT-001), most recent filing year on record. The ratio is arithmetic on the figures that record publishes, and the figures stay attributed to it.External recordA ratio computed from a self-reported state charitable-registration filing for one filing year. It is not an audited functional-expense statement, it is not a current-year balance, and it says nothing about any other year. This register does not restate the underlying figures as the institution’s own measures.
Who stands behind the published operational measuresA management attestation of 2026-09-13. No board resolution and no audit has approved them.The approved operational snapshot and its approval fields (SRC-007), which carry the approval status, the approval basis, the approver and the approval date.Verified in repositoryThe approval basis is part of the published data, not an inference. A management attestation is the weakest of the three bases the snapshot can carry, and it is the one this snapshot carries: it is not a board resolution, not an audited statement and not an external filing. A reader weighing the program-service ratio above should weigh it with this row.
Measurement approachA published metric registry of 7 defined measures, each carrying its population, its exclusions, its unit, its aggregation grain, and a named review owner and review dateThe record-room metric registry and the approved operational snapshot (SRC-007). The definitions are published, and the snapshot publishes the observations made against them.Verified in repositoryA registry of definitions is a measurement framework: it fixes what a number means, what it excludes, and when it is reviewed. It is not an approved evaluation plan, it is not a logic model, and it is not an outcome study. No measure in it has yet been reported against for a completed year.
Evaluation and outcome reportingNot reportedNo source in this repository states an evaluation plan, a logic model, a third-party evaluation, or an outcome measure for any program.Not reportedAbsence of a published source, not evidence that none exists. An evaluation the institution holds and has not published is outside this register, and a funder’s own measurement requirements are not addressed by this row either. It records that nothing is published, and it is published as an absence rather than left off the table.
Board-approved budget or financial statementNot reportedNo source in this repository publishes a budget, a board-approved financial statement, or a board resolution concerning the institution’s finances.Not reportedAbsence of a published source, not a missing control. A state filing reports the figures for one filed year; that is a filing, not a budget, and this register does not treat it as one. The governance register carries what the state registration does and does not say about audited statements.
Grant awards received to date0 USD awarded to INSTAR Lab, across the federal, state, private funder types the measure definesThe approved operational snapshot (SRC-007), which carries the grant measure as a measured zero for each funder type the definition declares.Verified in repositoryA published zero is a measured figure, not a missing one: it is the institution’s own attestation that no grant award has been made to it, by any of the funder types the measure defines. It is not an external check, it does not establish that no application is under review, and it is not a statement about any proposal or pledge.
Charitable contributions receivedNot reportedThe approved operational snapshot (SRC-007), which carries an approved observation for this measure whose value is unavailable.Verified in repositoryThe measure is approved and its value is not published: no amount, no donor name and no donor-level record appears anywhere in this room. This row does not say whether any contribution was received, because nothing on file here establishes it either way, and it is deliberately not a nominal zero.
Restricted and unrestricted contributionsNot reportedNo source in this repository states a restriction policy, a fund-balance position, or a restriction attached to any contribution.Not reportedAbsence of a published source, not evidence that no restricted funds exist. Until a gift-acceptance and restriction policy is published, this register does not describe what the institution will or will not accept, and no page of this site should be read as doing so. The policy register carries the gift-acceptance row separately.
Designated use of a giftNot reportedNo approved allocation, stewardship or designation statement is published in this repository.Not reportedAbsence of a published source, not an absence of intent. The public research, fellowship and support routes describe research themes and ways to engage; a route is not an allocation statement, and this register does not offer one on the institution’s behalf. The program-service share above describes how one filed year’s expenses were classified, which is a different question.

Register checked 2026-09-14. The statutory route for requesting the institution’s exemption application and its annual returns is the IRC §6104(d) path stated in the legal-status register.

Resource-use rows by what establishes them

Derived from the register beside it. A row carried by a government filing, a row verified in the repository, and a row publishing an absence are counted separately, and a status the register does not use is shown at zero rather than dropped.

Download CSV
Owner confirmed0
External record1
Verified in repository4
Site published0
Unverified0
Not reported4
View data table
Resource-use rows by what establishes them
CategoryValue (rows)
Owner confirmed0
External record1
Verified in repository4
Site published0
Unverified0
Not reported4

Publication boundary

Keep the inference line visible.

This register does not reproduce private personnel material, board minutes, resolutions, or the text of any policy. Those may exist outside the public route graph; their publication authority and privacy review are not established here.

A name on a public page establishes that the page says so. It does not establish an appointment, a term, a fiduciary duty, or a qualification, and nothing in this register should be read as establishing one.